Jason's Backpack

Jason's Backpack

text / hongki

'As sons, or I believe that all the youth protestors have considered their families.' ──Frontline Protestor Jason

University student Jason, who used to be caught, participated in the movement as frontline protestor and support crew. His parents acknowledge but disapprove of his enthusiasm in the movement. 'Both sides are wrong”, his father claims himself politically neutral; his mother sometimes jokes on him, describing Jason as “cockroaches” or “rioters”. Jason once thought of fighting back but he never did, 'We are families.'

However, after The siege of the Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK) on 2019 November, family's quarrel was ingnited. Before leaving home to the Campus with friends, Jason borrowed father's backpack. At that moment, parents were on vacation and would not use the backpack. Later on, he was shot by blue water cannon and lost the backpack in chaos.

Finally, Jason returned home which was not easy. Knowing that the backpack was lost, mother chased Jason and shouted: 'Father's name cards are in the backpack. Won't your father be arrested if the police found them?'

'You just care about the backpack but you never ask me how I am after getting shot by water cannon.' Jason was full of anger, as parents weigh an object more than himself. He also doubt why parents comment the government is wrong but do nothing; while fiercely criticizing him not care about family and their feelings. He felt wronged, 'As sons, or I believe that all the youth protestors have considered their families.'

What does Jason wanna hear from parents? ' They better shut up.' Jason made a short reply. He explained that as parents rarely understands motto and actions of the protestors, what they gonna say are just condemned words. He does not seek for recognition. Besides, though sometimes he can feel the kindness from their words, 'they don't know how to express but make people feel offended indeed. What's the point of saying that?'

After few days, Jason's anger is gone. He thought the question again and changed his mind, I do not long for words like 'I love you, son”, but just say 'thank you'.' When coming home, he just long for these two words.

Jason's Backpack
Scroll to top
English

聲音收集二:你的背包

聲音收集二:你的背包

text / 康琪

「我們做兒子的,或是我相信所有出來的後生仔,都有考慮過屋企。」──前線Jason

大學生Jason做過前線、後勤,曾經被捕。父母都知道他於運動的投入,但不表認同。父親是「偏中立」,覺得「兩邊都唔啱」;母親有時會開玩笑,形容兒子是「曱甴」、「暴徒」。他想過反擊,但最終放棄對罵:「始終是家人。」

然而,去年11月警察包圍香港中文大學後,兩代人終究吵起來。Jason相約朋友前往中大幫忙,從家中借用父親背包,反正當時父母離港旅行,背包用不上。紛亂之間,他身中藍色水劑,丟失背包。

好不容易返到家,母親得知背包丟失後,追着Jason罵:「你爸的袋子有卡片,若警察撿到袋子,不就會拘捕你爸?」

「你只是關心袋子中藍色水,卻完全無問過我中藍色水後怎樣。」Jason深感憤怒,因為父母重死物多於自己。他亦疑惑,為什麼父母覺得政府不對,卻無作為;對他卻是猛力批評,說他不顧家人、沒有考慮他們的感受。他覺得冤枉,「我們做兒子的,或是我相信所有出來的年輕人,都有考慮過家人。」

問Jason想從家人口中聽到什麼話,他丟下一句:「他們最好是收聲。」因為父母不理解抗爭者的理念與行動,說出口的都只會是批評,而他亦不強求認同。其次,雖然明白父母說話有時出於好意,「但(他們)不懂得表達,聽的人覺得礙耳,那你說有什麼意思?」

事隔數日、一腔怒氣過後,Jason再次思考這問題,起初都是認定父母閉嘴最好,但後來不自覺地改口:「我不是要聽『我愛你啊囝』,只不過是一句『多謝你』,已經好足夠。」踏入家門後,就只盼這一句。

聲音收集二:你的背包
滾動到頂部