The Transformation of Social Trauma: Power-Under and Politics

Lecture

The Transformation of Social Trauma:
Power-Under and Politics

Article / SiuCho      Editor / Sandy      Translation / Happy

In the past few months, many directly experienced an unprecedented story of political oppression: numerous unexplained deaths, hundreds of people facing charges, thousands of people arrested, commonplace tear gas, sponge rounds, and rubber bullets. Every Saturday and Sunday, scenes after scenes of blood-covered faces flooded social media platforms. No matter online or offline, people have been puzzled about how this social movement will end and eager to devise solutions.

During these war-ridden days, no one, right at the frontlines or back in the living rooms, could evade from feeling restless and worried. As arrested protestors were released or put into court, where some were abused, some even raped, the dreadful damage to our body and mind brought by the long-winded social movement had gradually surfaced. How collective trauma affects our political behaviour is an urgent political matter to be discussed. Steven Wineman’s book, Power Under: Trauma and Nonviolent Social Change (2003), might shed some light to us.

What are we shouldering? Trauma is not an isolated single phenomenon  alking about Trauma, an average person would think of it as an individual’s psychological damage from bodily illness, change in relationships, sexual violence, verbal or physical violence. Yet, in fact, its definition covers more than this common notion. Psychological trauma originates from traumatic events, which can vary in forms but all have some commonalities (Yoder 2005):
  • Threats to personal safety or survival
  • Inducing immense fear and helplessness
  • Weakening a person’s or a crowd’s ability to respond to threats
  • Obliterating the sense of control of one’s life and external environment
  • Disrupting a person’s or a crowd’s meaning of life and sense of order
  • Depending on age, races, biography, religious beliefs, and the extent of involvement to the event, we endow different meanings to a life-threatening and physically and psychologically traumatic event. Hence, concerning trauma, one has to consider an individual’s idiosyncratic experience, the intensity of the trauma, his or her tolerance to stress and susceptibility to post-traumatic stress disorder, the forms of expression of the trauma, and the subsequent reactions.
    In the past, we tended to perceive trauma as being triggered by a single event, such as a traffic accident, an earthquake, and a hazardous fire. In reality, long-term persistent exposure to life-threatening or violent situations could also leave lingering damage.
  • Living in war-ridden sites
  • Living in places that are currently or possibly occupied by terrorists
  • Surviving under absolute poverty and being consistently malnourished
  • Extremely lacking basic health care and constantly facing risks to be infected
  • Being ruled or colonized and silenced by autocratic leaders
  • Facing systematic discrimination, such as slavery and racism
  • Since these damages are not caused by a single event but rather by a prolonged misery, we could call it ‘cumulative trauma’, ‘continuous trauma’, or ‘multiple or plural trauma’. Additionally, as these traumas concern a group of people or even the whole society and are constituted by a specific combination of culture, history, and political system, they are sometimes named as ‘social trauma’ or ‘collective trauma’. During these months of protest, what we are shouldering could be a type of social trauma. Those who are facing psychological damage do not have to be direct victims of the protest; The witnesses of the others’ affliction could also feel standard stress reactions, such as intense fear, panic, anger, or helplessness. For instance, paramedics, medical practitioners, social workers, and even the audience who watched live videos of violence could suffer different extent of damage. The soldiers, police officers, guards and correctional service officers who inflicted pain to abide by their superiors or the criminals who hurt their victims for money or revenge could also face trauma.

    What constitutes trauma? / Trauma is an ‘overwhelming experience’

    From Chi Fai’s interview, we could see that our body and mind exhibit a series of changes upon threats, including an increase in heart rate, rapid breathing, iris dilation, and adrenaline excretion, in order to prepare for the moment of an instantaneous event. However, if the situation did not allow a flight or fight response, this threat would induce an unbearable psychological pressure, preventing the anxiety response triggered by the threats to be completed. The internal energy that energizes us to take action and manage the threat would be frozen and turn into trauma. Just as Bessel van der Kolk described (1996),trauma is an ‘overwhelming experience’.

    In other words, human beings have a series of complicated bodily reactions to threats, including physiology, emotions, thoughts, and behaviour, to prepare for a fight or flight response. Traumatic events would dismantle the series of complex and interconnected reactions, such that even when the risk dampened, some of these triggered reactions would continue, causing burnout, alertness, emotional numbness, dissociation (evading traumatic memories out of consciousness), and amnesia (having no or incomplete recollections of traumatic events, or even experiencing flashback, where the person involuntarily recall or dream of the traumatic event in detail.

    How does social oppression cause trauma? / Rage and Numbness Trapped in a Cage 

    Social and political oppression is a common but omitted source of continuous trauma. Marilyn Frye, a feminist, used a metaphor of a bird cage to describe this type of oppression. She added that if one focused on a single metal bar, one might think bypassing it for freedom is easy, but if one stepped back and observed, one would see the cage, forming a constrained space limited by multiple bars. We could infer from the word ‘oppression’ that ‘presses’ a person, rendering him or her unmovable.

    This is the workings of an autocracy, which simultaneously controls the media, judicial system, education, economy, and the parliament, and legitimizes their violent suppression to protestors, thus limiting and intruding the people’s freedom systematically. Just like being in a bird cage, the room for resistance is scarce. In this social and political environment, those who resist oppression are trapped in a situation where they could neither advance their ideals nor run away from the status quo and, hence, faces immense psychological pressure.

    What Hongkongers are experiencing is similar to this dilemma. When on one hand, we are objectively the underdog against the powerful and on the other, we subjectively feel having no exit and independence and even being imminently eradicated, we would then experience two conflicting forces. The first one is an onerous sense of helplessness and the second is a survival instinct and a strong yearning of dignity, independence, and security. The fight between these two forces would create a psychological state unique to trauma: at some moments, one would feel enraged by external stimulus and at other, dissociation, numbness, and denial to the events would arise, causing a person to jump between hyper-alertness and psychological detachment.

    What Effects does ‘Traumatic Rage’ have? / The prolonged deterioration of ‘Power-Under’

    Traumatic rage is different from quotidian anger.In particular, its episode is eruptive, with the sufferer to have a reduced window of tolerance and react more extremely than usual.Common symptoms are nightmares, recalling the details of the traumatic events, mentally revisiting the site of trauma, and being touchy to the others’ opinions, body gestures, or touch. These feelings may invoke the traumatic patient to re-experience the moments when the trauma formed. They then could not help but release their wrath at once, which to many seems disproportionately intense and thus attracts the others to condemn them as being over sensitive or abnormal.

    Although this intense fury is apparently full of energy from its expression, it will inevitably strengthen the sufferer’s helplessness. Because of the easiness of being triggered by anger, these people may subjectively feel out of control of themselves. In this state, regaining the sense of control, security, and integrity becomes unbearable, further intensifying the sense of helplessness.

    When traumatic rage is triggered, one feels helpless, as if struggling to breathe while suffocating in water, trying to grab upon something around to float to the surface. The process of struggling could be obviously bothersome to the people around, especially when the person in rage wreaks their emotions on those who have less power to them and inflicting long-term damage. Steven Wineman named this explosive energy originating from social trauma as ‘power-under’.

     
    For instance, Helen Epistein (1988) interviewed the children of Holocaust survivors on their growth. Many formerly incarcerated Jews would reprimand their children for menial issues with a level of rage disproportionate to the children’s behaviour, or even completely unrealistic. Facing their parents’ traumatic rage, these youngsters, who depended a lot on their parents, had very limited resources and choices and resorted to receive the punishment. The traumatic rage of parents would bring about new trauma through a home environment that was full of extreme threats and a lack of self-protecting power. This succession of trauma could continue across generations without an end.

    The Political Risk of Power-Under

    According to the idea of power-under, riots are usually the result of triggered collective trauma. When the people feel helpless and uneasy in stopping political oppression and changing social rules and when the complaint and suggestions route within the system and peaceful protest are both futile, they will subjectively feel powerless and trapped while longing for survival, dignity, security and independence. Riots, in this case, would be an expression of the rage from collective trauma to respond to the unbearable living situation and social pain.

    Similar to personal traumatic rage, collective trauma could also bring about harmful energies, including (1) denying the humanness of the authority and the violent, (2) being unwilling or incapable of observing one’s own oppressive behaviour, (3) over focusing on the social comparison of the degree of oppression suffered and losing sight of building a legitimate and stable alliance, and (4) creating a situation where the others are either an ally or an enemy, which breeds constant infighting and discord and weakens the power to advance the social movement.

    Wineman has suggested an inspiring idea: Possessing power objectively does not mean a subjective feeling of being powerful and advantaged. Contrastingly, people could descend into a victim role, feeling being surrounded by enemies and raising the possibility of traumatic rage. Wineman believes such situations with objective dominance and subjective powerlessness being combined to be the most lethal.

    Ariel Dorfman said, ‘Nothing more dangerous … [than] a giant who is afraid’ (as cited in Wineman, 105). If riot police officers equipped with powerful weapons felt they too could be acted upon and forgot their advantage and privilege of owning power and arms, they could experience traumatic rage too and express it through attacking protestors and weaponless bystanders, causing a blood-ridden humanitarian disaster. Additionally, the autocracy, in order to suppress the people’s resistance, might start rumours or even fabricate false attacks against the soldiers and officers and lead them to believe that the danger they face is more intense than the reality. When these soldiers and officers are suppressing the people more, the more the people feel helpless and the stronger they desire to risk their life against the authorities. The law enforcers would then obtain evidence that they were truly surrounded and thus to defend themselves, they would boost their suppressive power by dehumanizing or even killing the protestors. The two parties then would fall into a cycle of violence.

    How to react to personal and collective trauma is an inevitable social issue

    Understanding the form of social trauma in the political field not only enlightens us on why the law enforcers would abuse their power and armory, but also offers us another point of view to comprehend and overcome progressive parties’ internal and inter-party conflicts. Many social movements involve people who once had trauma and take action to solve the problems, which in the process of involvement, they might bring their personal trauma into the collectives and organizations. Therefore, to build a strong and large-scale progressive organization, how to react to personal and collective trauma is an inevitable issue. On this matter, Wineman has the following suggestions:

    1. Acknowledge that social trauma is a political issue and ‘call it by its true name’. In other words, in order to respond to the effects of trauma, one has to see through it and develop a common framework to analyze the political significance and concrete form of expressions of trauma, especially how traumatic rage may obstruct the fight of social change;

    2. Protestors should learn to identify different political scenes that might causes trauma and the early signs of traumatic rage episodes, as well as the ways of responding to these signs

    3. Understand the psychological state of the people being in an organization with people who are political underdogs in a society and the subsequent social dynamics. On top of this is the multi-facet characteristic of oppression, which renders the line between the oppressors and the oppressed blurred. The very same person or group of people could be simultaneously both, such as the gender, class, and racial oppression in a politically oppressed community

    4. One should maintain being wise and benevolent. Sharp judgement is needed in a political environment while a benevolence to see through everyone’s trauma and the concomitant effects is required for a better caring of the wound.

    Transforming Traumatic Rage into Constructive Rage

    One way to overcome the dilemma of being power-under is to transform traumatic rage into constructive rage. Upon injustice, feeling angry is normal and necessary. Hence, the issue is not whether to suppress the anger, but how to consciously use the emotion to contribute to the social movement. Gandhi has once told his grandson that anger is beneficial as it is the fuel of a vehicle, which purports us towards a better place. Without anger, we would not have the motivation to grow stronger and overcome obstacles. At the same time, if we did not utilize anger well, it would be as if we were careless in using electricity, which could end up disastrous. (Gandhi 2017)

    Wineman has provided a number of rule of thumbs for rage transformation:

    • Being clear with goals and expected results and aware of the possible effects of taking actions
    • Aligning the goals with the methodologies without abusing power
    • Keeping benevolence at heart to oneself and the others and paying attention to the possibility of being oppressed and oppressing the others
    • Connecting actions with a concrete and positive vision by saying no to injustice and clearly depicting the ideal society as imagined. At every step, we should remain conscious of the possibility of positive alternatives for a more just world and keep posing ourselves with the question: How can my actions improve the conditions against which I am enraged?
    • Nurturing a subjective sense of power and learning to be always aware of it during action. This implies a belief that no matter how bad the situation is, you always have a choice as conscious decisions are the manifestation of possessing and using power. If this mental state is not maintained, the intensity of the sense of hopelessness may influence how damaged our mind is.
    • Committing to an equal power relationship. Our ideal society entails sharing power, but not taking over to be another dictator and remaking current relations of oppression
    • Cultivating the non-violent resistance of transforming rage into a steadfast will, without repeating the damage done by the oppressors and not turning them into our oppressed victims.

    To illustrate, Nelson Mandela, who had led South Africa out of apartheid, had had a life sentence and spent twenty-seven years in Robben Island. As a lawyer, he pro-actively made use of every opportunity to provide legal aid to the other cell mates and successfully reversed a number of verdicts. When the government wanted to disbar him, he employed all the available resources in the system and wrote an apologia. He had also written letters and personally complained at the jail managers about the difficult living situation in jail, further asking for improvements.

    Although not every move he took was successful, he used every little action to nurture and maintain her psychological will.

    Power-under is inevitable. As such, the issue is how we can gather resources for our own and the society to transform the collective trauma created by oppression and energize our resistance to march closer to our ideals one step at a time.

    References:

    • Arun Gandhi, The Gift: Ten Spiritual Lessons for the Modern World from my Grandfather, Mahatma Gandhi (New York: Penguin Random House, 2017).
    • Bessel van der Kolk, Alexander McFarlane, and Lars Weisaeth (eds), Traumatic Stress The Effects of Overwhelming Experience on Mind, Body and Society (New York: Guilford Press, 1996).
    • Carolyn Yoder, The Little Book of Trauma Healing: When Violence Strikes and Community Security is Threatened (Intercourse, Pennsylvania: Good Books, 2005)
    • Helen Epstein, Children of the Holocaust (New York: Penguin Books, 1988).
    • Jack Saul, Collective Trauma, Collective Healing—Promoting Community Resilience in the Aftermath of Disaster (New York: Routledge, 2014).
    • Marilyn Frye, “Oppression,” in The Feminist Philosophy Reader, edited by Alison Bailey and Chris Cuomo, 41-51 (Boston: McGraw Hill, 2008).
    • Wineman, Steven, Power Under: Trauma and Nonviolent Social Change, (2003); http://www.traumaandnonviolence.com/.
    The Transformation of Social Trauma: Power-Under and Politics
    Scroll to top
    English

Lecture | 社會創傷的轉化: 無力之力與政治

Lecture

社會創傷的轉化:
無力之力與政治

文 / 小曹      編 / 山地

過去幾個月,不少人都親身經歷了前所未見的政治壓迫;數十人離奇死亡、過百人被起訴、逾千人被捕,催淚煙、海綿彈、橡膠子彈更是司空見慣。每逢星期六日,一幕又一幕血流披面的畫面充斥各個社交平台。線上線下都為運動如何走到終點而惆悵,紛紛出謀獻計。

烽火連天的日子,無論走到最前線又或坐在家中觀看多台新聞直播都如坐針氈,片刻難安。隨著被捕手足釋放或上庭,曠日彌久的街頭運動帶來的身心傷害陸續浮現,有的被私刑,有的被性侵,集體經歷的創傷如何影響我們的政治行為是個急需討論的政治課題,Steven Wineman所寫的Power Under: Trauma and Nonviolent Social Change (2003)可以給予我們一些啟示。

我們在承受着什麼?/ 創傷不是一個人的單一事件  談到心理創傷(trauma),一般人都視之為在個人層面上身體疾病、關係變化、性暴力、語言或肢體暴力帶來的心理傷害,其實它涵蓋的範圍更廣。心理創傷都是由創傷事件(traumatic events)造成,它們雖然各式各樣,但有一些共同特點(Yoder 2005):
  • 威脅人身安全或性命
  • 令人產生極度恐懼和無助的感受
  • 減弱個人或群眾回應威脅的能力
  • 令人感到失去對生命和外在環境的控制力
  • 撼動個人或群眾對生命賦予的意義與秩序
  • 基於年齡、種族、成長背景、宗教信仰,以至涉事程度不一等等差異,我們會為威脅生命、造成身心受損的事件給予不一樣的意義,所以,談及創傷,需要尊重個體的獨特經驗,以及創傷的深淺程度,從可承受的壓力反應到創傷後壓力症候群(post-traumatic stress disrorder),以及創傷展現的不同形式和伴隨的不同反應。
    過往,我們傾向將創傷視為由單一事件所引發,例如車禍、地震、火災。其實,長期且持續地生活在威脅生命、安全或被人侵犯的情況下一樣會造成後果深遠的創傷。
  • 處於持續發生戰亂或武裝衝突的地區
  • 生活在被恐怖分子佔據或有可能被佔據的地方
  • 長期生活在貧窮線以下,三餐無法溫飽
  • 極度欠缺基本醫療照顧,時刻面對感染疾病的風險
  • 國家被獨裁者統治或殖民,異見聲音受限或禁止
  • 遭遇有系統的歧視和邊緣,例如奴隸制度、種族歧視
  • 因為這些創傷不是由單一次的事件引發而是由長期且持續的情況造成,我們會把它稱為「累積創傷」(cumulative trauma)、「持續創傷」(continuous trauma)或「多重創傷」(mutiple or plural trauma)。同時,因為這些創傷涉及一群人甚至整個社會,而且它往往有特定的文化、歷史和社會制度支持,所以有時會統稱為「社會創傷」(social trauma)或「集體創傷」(collective trauma)。 在這次持續數月的抗爭中,我們承受着的,可說是社會創傷。而心理受創的人不一定是直接身受其害的受害者,有時候單單是見證了他人經歷創傷事件,我們也會出現極度的驚慌、恐懼、憤怒或被無力感籠罩等典型的壓力反應。例如,參與救援的隊員、醫護人員、社工,甚至看新聞直播、見證他人受害的觀眾,也可能承受不同程度的傷害受上級指示而主動傷害他人的軍人、警察、懲教、護衛,又或是為了錢財、復仇而傷害他人的罪犯都有一樣可能承受創傷。

    創傷如何形成?/創傷就是「令人不勝負荷的經驗」

    從志輝的訪問中知道,面對威脅,身心都會出現一系列的變化,例如心跳加快、呼吸急速、瞳孔放大、分泌腎上腺素,為瞬間發生的事情做準備。然而,如果當下的情景不容反擊(fight)或逃走(flight),這個威脅帶來的心理壓力會遠超我們的身心負荷,由威脅而激發的焦慮反應便無法完結,那股推動我們採取行動、解除威脅的內在能量就會被困(frozen)在體內,形成創傷。就如Bessel van der Kolk所言,創傷就是「令人不勝負荷的經驗」(overwhelming experience)(1996)。

    換言之,人類回應威脅有一系列複雜的身心反應,包括生理、情緒、思想和具體行為,準備我們作戰(fight)或逃跑(flight)。創傷事件會把這一系列複雜又互相扣連的心身反應瓦解,以致即使危機已過或稍為緩和,某些被威脅觸發的身心反應仍然持續運作,引致過度緊張、警惕、情緒麻木、解離(dissociation;將慘痛記憶排除在意識之外)和記憶障礙(創傷事件的記憶變得零碎,甚至完全失去又或是出現閃回(flashback),不由自主地記起或夢見創傷事件情節)。

    社會壓迫如何造成創傷?/ 被困在鐵籠下的暴怒與麻木 

    社會和政治壓迫是其中一個常見但被忽視的持續創傷事件。女性主義者Marilyn Frye在1983年一篇文章就曾用鳥籠來比喻這種「壓迫」。她說,若只專注於眼前一根鐵枝,我們會以為仍然可以輕易繞過它而得到自由,但只要退後一步,便知道多條鐵枝組成了一個鐵籠,從四方八面限制著我們可以行動的空間。從壓迫的英文“oppression”便可知道,「壓迫」是把人「壓下」(press),令其動彈不得。

    獨裁政權也是如此,它們往往同時掌控媒體、司法、教育、經濟和議會,再加上它會用法律合理化對抗爭者的武力鎮壓,以致人民的自由受到有系統的限制和侵犯,抵抗的空間亦所餘無幾,仿如被困在鳥籠。這樣的社會和政治環境,造成既攻不成又逃不掉的困局,對被宰制的人民帶來巨大的心理壓力。

    香港人面對的情況相若。當客觀上處於權力下風,主觀上又覺得無路可退、無法自主,甚至被趕盡殺絕,我們內心會經驗兩股相反的力量:一方面是沉重的無力感,另一方面是求生的本能和對尊嚴、自主和安全的強烈渴求。兩股力量拉扯下會滋生出一種創傷獨有的心理狀態:時而被外在刺激或閃回觸發而暴怒(rage),時而出現解離、麻木、否認事件曾經發生,以致常常在過度警覺與麻木無感之間來回。

    「創傷性暴怒」帶來什麼影響?/「無力之力」的禍延後代

    「創傷性暴怒」(traumatic rage)異於一般情況的憤怒,它的特點是隨時爆發(eruptive),受創者對於外在刺激的容忍度(windows of tolerance)減低,反應比平時大。常見的情況是發惡夢、記起被害情節或重臨被害現場,以至別人的評論、姿勢或觸碰會觸發身心不舒的感受。這些感受讓心靈受創的人再一次經歷被凝固的創傷時刻,因而會一下子釋放最強烈的憤怒來回應,旁人往往無法理解這股不成比例的怒火,反過來責怪她/他們過敏或失常。

    雖然這種極高強度的憤怒從形式上看似充滿力量,但會再一次強化受創者的無力感,因為受創者容易被這股暴怒牽扯,或會令受創者在主觀感受上覺得不由自主。在此狀態中,重獲掌控感、安全感和身心合一(integrity)的狀態的日子變得吃力,以致無力感更深。

    受創者的創傷性暴怒被觸發時,會感到無助,會像個快將淹死的人在水中掙扎,慌張忙亂地抓緊身旁任何物件,以求浮上水面吸一口氣,這個掙扎的過程往往對他人造成不自覺但非常巨大的影響,尤其是當受創者向權力位置比自己低的人發洩暴怒,可能會帶來影響深遠的傷害。Steven Wineman稱這股由社會創傷引發的爆炸性能量為「無力之力」(power-under) 。

     
    例如,Helen Epstein(1988)在猶太人大屠殺(Holocaust)後訪問過一些子女的成長經驗,發現曾經囚禁於納粹集中營的父母會經常因為一些小事而嚴厲訓斥子女,她/他憤怒的強度往往跟子女的行為不成比例,甚至完全脫離現實。面對父母的創傷性暴怒,年幼又在生存上極度依靠父母照料的兒童擁有最少的資源和選擇,所以常常只能「企定定硬食」。父母的創傷性暴怒令兒童陷入極端的威脅卻又毫無能力保護自己的處境,繼而造成新的創傷,以致一代人的苦難通過創傷傳給下一代人,生生世世,輪迴不息。

    「無力之力」帶來的政治危機

    根據power under這個視野,所謂「暴動」往往是集體創傷被觸發後的結果。人民感到無力停止政治壓迫和改變社會制度,苦不堪言,再加上制度內的申訴途徑失效而制度外的非暴力抗爭又未見成功,導致人民主觀上感到無可奈何,進退不得,同時內心對生存、尊嚴、安全和自主有強烈的渴求,「暴動」便是一種集體創傷性暴怒的表現,回應無法忍受的生存環境和無法承擔的集體痛苦。

    跟個人的創傷性暴怒一樣,集體創傷所釋放的能量可帶來不健康的影響,包括(一)否定當權者和施展武力的一方的人性、(二)不願意或不能夠看見自己都有壓迫他人的作為、(三)同路人常常因為爭論誰比誰更受壓迫、誰更有正當性而無法建立穩定的聯盟,以及(四)抗爭團體陷入非敵即友的狀態,不斷出現內鬨和分裂,削弱推動社會變革的力量。

    Wineman最有啟發性的觀點是:一個人在客觀上擁有權力不一定主觀上就覺得自己充滿力量和佔盡優勢。相反,她/他們也可以墮入受害者的角色,覺到四面受敵,也有機會因而出現創傷性暴怒。Wineman認為當「客觀上佔據支配位置」(objective dominance)和「主觀上感到勢孤力弱」(subjective powerlessness)兩者結合是最為致命的。

    正如Ariel Dorfman說過 “Nothing more dangerous … [than] a giant who is afraid.” (引自Wineman,105)。假如配備大殺傷力武器的軍警感到自己「隨時被人『郁』」(being acted upon)而忘記自己在裝備上和權力上的優勢與特權,也會有機會出現創傷性暴怒,以自衛之名來攻擊示威者和手無寸鐵的途人,造成血流成河的人道災難。而且,獨裁政權每每為了鎮壓人民的反抗運動,會故意利用流言,甚至自製針對軍警的襲擊,誘導她/他們相信自己面對的危險遠比真實的情況巨大。當軍警對人民的鎮壓越大,人民感受到的無力感便會越強,拚命一搏的欲望亦會越盛,而原先被誘導進入受害者位置的軍警會以此印證自己四面受敵,為了自保而進一步將對方非人化並提升鎮壓力量,甚至不惜殺人,雙方因而陷入暴力循環 (cycle of violence)。

    如何回應個人與集體創傷是不能迴避的社會議題

    明白社會創傷在政治層面的模式,不但讓我們明白為何軍警會失控濫權濫暴,同時提供多一個視野來理解和克服進步組織內部和組織之間頻生的衝突,也讓我們明白社會運動很多時都由背負創傷的行動者所組成,行動者無可避免會把自身的創傷帶進組織和群體之中。如果想建立強大的進步組織,如何回應個人與集體創傷是個不能迴避的議題。Wineman對此有幾項建議:

    一, 承認社會創傷是個政治議題,「以真正的名字稱呼它」(call it by its true name),意思是要回應創傷帶來的影響,先要看見它,及後發展共通的框架來分析創傷的政治意涵和具體表現方式,尤其是理解創傷性暴怒對社會變革的奮鬥造成哪些障礙;

    二,行動者學習辨認不同的政治場景裏創傷和創傷性暴怒出現的先兆,以及出現後的回應先兆的方法;

    三,明白到當組織多於一人處於權力下方的心理狀態,以及這個狀態會產生複雜的團體動力,再加上壓迫常常多重交疊,令到壓迫者與被壓迫者的界線並不分明,兩者往往在同一個/群人身上出現,例如受政治壓迫的群體內也會有性別、階級和/或種族的壓迫;

    四,悲智雙全,缺一不可;對政治環境要有敏銳的判斷力,同時心懷慈悲地檢視自己和同路人身上的創傷及其影響,並發展善巧的方法照顧創傷。

    由「創傷暴怒」轉化為「有建設性的憤怒」

    超越「無力之力」(power under)困境的其中一個路徑是轉化「創傷暴怒」(traumatic rage)成為「有建設性的憤怒」(constructive rage)。面對不公義,憤怒是十分人之常情且必要的,所以問題並不是應否撲滅憤怒,而是如何有意識地使用憤怒,貢獻社會變革的事業。甘地就曾向他的孫兒說「憤怒有益」,因為憤怒就像汽車的燃料,推動我們朝向更美好的地方進發。沒有憤怒,我們不會有動力遇強越強,克服障礙。同時,不善用憤怒,就如用電時沒有注意安全,後果嚴重。(Gandhi 2017)

    Wineman提供了幾個轉化創傷暴怒的原則:

    • 目標和想達到的效果清晰明確,意識到行動對別人造成什麼影響
    • 手段與目的一致;不濫用權力;
    • 對自己和他人心存慈悲,知道自己既受壓迫又可能同時壓迫別人;
    • 行動與具體而正面的願景扣連;對不公義大聲說「不」之餘,把這個「不」背後渴望的美好社會願景清楚勾畫出來,因為我們需要導向美好願景的另類實踐來保持希望和向目標邁進。時刻問自己:「我的行動如何改善我感到憤怒的狀況?」;
    • 培養內在力量的主觀感受(a subjective sense of power),並學習安住於這份感受來行動。這意味著保留一份信念,不管情況如何惡劣,我總有選擇,因為有意識地做選擇是擁有和運用權力的具體表現;若無法維持在主觀上感到自己有力量做選擇,這種無力狀態的深淺會決定我們的心靈有多大可能受到創傷;
    • 堅持對平等權力關係的追求。我們渴望的美好社會願景是共享權力,而不是奪取權力後成為新的獨裁者,複製現有的壓迫與被壓迫的宰制關係
    • 學習非暴力抗爭把暴怒轉化成堅定的意志,決不複製傷害和壓迫我們的人的作為,也決不讓她/他們把我們變成到壓迫者。

    例如帶領南非結束種族隔離的曼德拉(Nelson Mandela)曾經被判終身監禁,在羅本島(Robben Island)服刑超過27年。 身為律師的他在監獄內積極利用每個機會向其他囚友提供法律,成功替部份囚友翻案。當政府想吊銷他的律師資格時,他利用所有制度內可以調動的資源,為自己撰寫自辯書。他又試過寫信和親身向獄長的上司投訴監獄情況惡劣,要求改善等等。

    雖然不是每一項行動都成功,但他借每一個小行動來培養和保持自己的內在力量。

    「無力之無」無法避免,問題是我們如何為自己以至整個社會增加資源,轉化因壓迫而生的集體創傷,好讓我們的抗爭持續有力,並向著理想一步一步地走近。

    參考書目:

    • Arun Gandhi, The Gift: Ten Spiritual Lessons for the Modern World from my Grandfather, Mahatma Gandhi (New York: Penguin Random House, 2017).
    • Bessel van der Kolk, Alexander McFarlane, and Lars Weisaeth (eds), Traumatic Stress The Effects of Overwhelming Experience on Mind, Body and Society (New York: Guilford Press, 1996).
    • Carolyn Yoder, The Little Book of Trauma Healing: When Violence Strikes and Community Security is Threatened (Intercourse, Pennsylvania: Good Books, 2005)
    • Helen Epstein, Children of the Holocaust (New York: Penguin Books, 1988).
    • Jack Saul, Collective Trauma, Collective Healing—Promoting Community Resilience in the Aftermath of Disaster (New York: Routledge, 2014).
    • Marilyn Frye, “Oppression,” in The Feminist Philosophy Reader, edited by Alison Bailey and Chris Cuomo, 41-51 (Boston: McGraw Hill, 2008).
    • Wineman, Steven, Power Under: Trauma and Nonviolent Social Change, (2003); http://www.traumaandnonviolence.com/.
    Lecture | 社會創傷的轉化: 無力之力與政治
    滾動到頂部