Stay with the arrested (I): Jaco Chau's training of emotions

When you're being battered,
   first and foremost,
   deal with your anger and horror.

~Jaco   

Jaco Chau has taken part in social movements for ten years and been arrested more than 20 times. He had a presence in nearly every social movement including the anti-WTO protest, the anti-high speed rail movement and the 2013 Hong Kong dock strike. He truly deserves the name of a "valiant protester", who experienced excessive force used by the police when the latter were still not described as "black cops". Jaco says if he is being battered by police, he will try to deal with his emotions and consolidate his will. At a time when the police use particularly excessive force, this kind of emotional assistance and training of one's will become more crucial.

interview+texts /Sandy______ short film production / Mooner.hk

In mid-June, 2014, the anti-Northeast New Territories development movement was in deep waters. As anticipated by Jaco, he would be arrested in the protest. It was no big deal since that would be one of his 20 or so arrests in ten years. What was unexpected was that the police had set him up so as to beat him up stealthily.

Psych yourself up

"Even if you expect you would die one day, you still feel shocked when the doctor tells you have cancer. What, Here it comes!" When Jaco was carried into a police car he was stunned since the light was off and the drapes shut, "I'm gonna be in big trouble."

There they were: after getting in the car, they heavily assaulted the four people arrested, including Jaco. Not knowing how much time had passed in the darkness, he was pressed in the back of the head by a police officer, who ordered him to lower his head and not to look around, and pulled his hair towards the front seats and the car windows. In the meantime, the officer kept asking him whether he is a triad member, which Jaco firmly denied. The police officer said, "Okay. This one has admitted he's from Sun Yee On." Then the officer pulled Jaco's hair downward and pinched his face, and scolded, "I told you to lower your head!", and spitting at him, tweaking his ear and face, which made his face bleed. Then the officer scolded him again, "They're only chaps, aren't they? You don't need to go to hospital, don't you? When he arrived at the police station, knowing that the lawyer had come, the officer ordered him to wash away the "red matter" in the toilet. Jaco said he wanted to see the lawyer. The officer replied loudly, "Got it! The arrestee says he doesn't need a lawyer." Jaco was blocked from seeing a lawyer all day and night.


Photo Credit: Chau Ho [email protected] Social Press

 

In the face of law enforcers' violence, what could we do?

Jaco says you need to keep taking deep breaths, calm yourself down and remember every detail that might be useful as evidence in the future.

"That they see that you could not resist at all and take pleasure in it will make you furious and keep toying with the idea of taking a pen from your bag and stab him right away. And you would think that might actually work." Jaco said one must resist such a desire because resistance would only lead to greater violence, and most importantly, Jaco refuses to let himself be lured into the trap of being charged with assaulting a police officer.

"After being beaten up, you would be told by the police, 'It's so easy for me to ensnare you, isn't it?' True, they got your address. That makes you scared. Should I rebut his words?" Jaco reminds us that we need to overcome this worry and pay attention to our every reply, "It's very important to think it over before saying it out."

"Unless you're heavily injured, don't say 'I need a check-up.' Firstly they don't have such a procedure. Secondly they might conspire to make wrong statements to countersue you." Jaco suggests that if our wounds are pretty mild, we should go to public hospital after we are away from the police. We may go to a private hospital for detailed check-ups if we need extra help. "Some people are concerned about the police stationed at public hospitals. But you're already arrested, why would that concern you? Also the A&E services are the quickest. It might take a longer time to see a doctor from civic organisations like Médecins Inspirés. The courts might even challenge your claim by associating the severity with the service you pay.


Photo Credit: Jimmy [email protected] Social Press

 

How could we assist companions who have been beaten up?

"One would need many supporters outside the police station. Emotionally speaking that's important." Jaco laughs that he does not know how to express his emotions. Regarding such a predicament faced by today's protesters, he chooses to suppress and control his emotions and focuses on practical assistance.

The most basic is funding. Many arrestees'' phones are confiscated. Then they lose their jobs. "After being arrested, they have to stick to the curfew order after being released on bail. If they have to stay home from 10 p.m. to 6 a.m., how could they work as casual workers or work the night shift? There are also some employers who fear that trouble from the police and triad members would ensure. So they would not employ arrested protesters. If the arrestee has financial difficulty, he or she might apply for funding from civic organisations.

What Jaco usually does is to help the arrestee write down the details of the incident, which must be jotted down before they are forgotten and given to a lawyer for future civil lawsuits. "After you're arrested, the police could search your house at any time. So you must leave at home anything that could be used as evidence against you. Otherwise they would help the police spin a better story."

As for the reason for not initiating private prosecution but filing civil lawsuits, Jaco says it is because "Citizens don't have investigative powers so they could not dig into a case like a police officer, making it impossible to reach the standard of proof, which is one of beyond reasonable doubt. But civil lawsuits only require a satisfying account of an event. The only thing is that civil lawsuits would only be handled after the criminal ones, which means cases in 2014 would only be dealt with in early 2019. Some of these cases have not even been concluded.

It takes a long time for fairness and justice to come. In Jaco's words, "Resistance is eternal."

Now he takes a back seat to provide assistance. Other than his age, that was due to the words from a senior in social movements that he strictly bears in mind, "The more unpopular a position is, the more you should try to contribute to it. Only by doing so could the resistance carry on."

Jaco's suggestions

  1. When police assault you abusively, take a deep breath to calm yourself down. Remember every detail that might serve as evidence.
  2. Assuage your anger. Don't lose control over it lest more violence will ensue.
  3. Constrain your fear. Don't hold back because of police's intimidation. Try to lodge civil lawsuits afterwards.
  4. If injuries are serious, request immediate hospitalisation. Otherwise, go to a public hospital to have your wounds examined after being released on bail.
  5. Helpers should help jot down detailed notes on how their companions were being assaulted and let a lawyer keep their statements.
Stay with the arrested (I): Jaco Chau's training of emotions
Scroll to top
English

手足之情緒支援 | 預備篇 : 被捕需知 (一)

被人虐打之時,
   你要先對付的,
   是自己的憤怒與驚恐。

~周諾恆(Jaco)   

周諾恆,Jaco,參與社運10年,被捕20多次,幾乎所有社運,反WTO、反高鐵、碼頭工人罷工,都可見他的踪影,是名副其實的衝衝子,也是在警察還未被稱為「黑警」的年代,就嘗過過分武力。他說,面對警察的拳打腳踢,他要對付的,是自己的情緒;他要鍛煉的,是自己的意志。在武力愈來愈過分的今天,這種情緒支援與意志的鍛練更形重要⋯⋯

訪問+文  / 山地        短片製作 / 月球上的人

2014年6月中,反新界東北規劃前期工程撥款行動在垂死抗爭。一如Jaco所料,他會在示威中被拘捕。這是十年來的二十多次,沒什麼大不了。萬料不到的是,那天警察安排了一場「暗黑打鑊」。

被打,不是早有心理預備嗎?

「你也預計自己總有一日會死啦,但醫生宣布你生cancer之時,你還是會驚。啊,嚟啦?」當Jaco被警察押上警車時,他見車廂熄了燈、拉了簾,心頭一震,「今次大鑊」。

果然,上了警車後,連他在內四個被拘捕的人都被狂毆。在不知持續多久的暗黑中,那警員不斷按壓他的後腦,命令他「低頭唔好望」,又扯着他的頭髮撞向前面的座位和車窗。期間,不斷問他「係咪黑社會」,Jaco極力否認,警員說:「得!呢個認咗新義安。」然後往下扯他的頭髮,拉起他的臉,罵一句「都叫你耷低頭囉」,吐他口水,扯他耳朵,捽他的面 ,弄到臉上流血,又是一句「你自己爆拆,唔駛睇醫生,係咪!」入到警署後,知道律師來到,警察就命他入廁所洗去臉上「紅色的東西」。Jaco說要見律師,他就大聲說:「得!被捕人確認唔駛見律師。」當天,Jaco一直被阻撓,整夜也見不到律師。


Photo Credit: Chau Ho [email protected] Social Press

 

面對執法者的暴力,你可以作什麼?

Jaco說,面對警察濫打,就只能不斷地深呼吸,叫自己冷靜,記着每一個日後可作證供的細節。

「當對方見你完全無去反抗,打得好開心的時候;你會好憤怒,內心會不停諗:如果我偷偷地在書包拿支筆然後捅上去,其實係會捅到佢。」Jaco說,一定要克制這一個慾望。因為反抗只會換來更大的暴力;更重要的是,他拒絕讓自己落入被控襲警的圈套中。

「被人打完之後,警察會同你講:『我搞你容乜易啫?』真的,佢有你的地址。你會驚,究竟我講唔講呢?」Jaco叮囑,要克服這一份憂心,也留心自己每一句的回話,「諗過先講好重要」。

「除非傷得嚴重,不要輕易說『我要驗傷』。一來他們沒有驗傷這程序,二來警察可能因此夾口供反控你。」Jaco建議,若傷勢不算嚴重,待離開警察後,才去公立醫院治理,如有需要再去私家醫院作詳細檢查。「有人怕公立醫院有警察,但你已被捕,還怕什麼?而且去急症室是最快,安排往『杏林覺醒』等民間網絡見醫生,可能要較長時間,法庭還可能會challenge你:傷勢那麼嚴重,因醫生你自己畀錢吧。」


Photo Credit: Jimmy [email protected] Social Press

 

可以怎樣支援曾被打的手足?

「我一離開警署,就見到有好多人在(警署外)等我。這種情緒支援最重要。」Jaco笑說,自己不擅表達情感,面對今天被捕人士的困境,他選擇壓抑,控制情緒,多從實務埋手支援。

最基本的是金錢的支持。許多被捕人士是手機被沒收,然後是工作丟掉。「被拘捕後,常要遵守保釋期間的宵禁令。假如晚上十時至六時不能外出,怎樣打散工或當夜班呢?也有一些老闆,怕招惹麻煩,怕警察怕黑幫,不敢聘用被捕人士。」假如自己也是窮人一族,可以申請民間基金作支援。

Jaco常作的,是幫助對方寫下案發的細節,一定要趕在遺忘之前記下,再交給律師保管,日後用作民事追討。「你被捕後,警方隨時上來搜屋,所以證據都不可留在家,否則對方會編一個更好的故事。」

至於為何不作私人刑事起訴,而進行民事金錢追討?「因為巿民都沒有調查權,唔可以像警察一樣去查案,幾乎不可能達到刑事舉證的門檻,亦即毫無合理疑點地證明某人犯案。但民事訴訟,只要講到一個合理案情出來便行。」 只是民事訴訟都要待刑事審訊之後,2014年的案件,要等到2019年初才上庭,至今還未有判決。

公平公義的等待,是漫長的。用Jaco的話說,「抗爭真是永續的」。

今天的他,退在線後作支援。除了因年紀大了,而是他謹記社運前輩的話:「愈沒有人愛做的位置,你愈要做,才能讓抗爭繼續。」

Jaco 的建議

  1. 面對警察濫打時,深呼吸叫自己冷靜,記着每一個日後可作證供的細節。
  2. 克制憤怒,不讓自己因憤怒而失控,免招致更大的暴力。
  3. 克制恐懼,不因警察的威嚇而退縮,日後循民事作追討。
  4. 如傷勢嚴重,可即時要求入院,如否,則保釋後往公立醫院驗傷。
  5. 支援者助手足記下被濫打的細節,把口供給律師保管。
手足之情緒支援 | 預備篇 : 被捕需知 (一)
滾動到頂部